New Jersey notices an increase in DUI charges during the holidays. More people are traveling, and many are celebrating the holiday season with family and friends, often with alcoholic beverages. Preparation can help you avoid a DUI charge this holiday season.
Here are a few tips to avoid a DUI charge this holiday season:
Planning is one of the most important, and effective, ways to avoid a DUI this holiday season. If you plan on driving, make sure you have a designated driver.
If your holiday plans include attending a party, consider staying overnight. If the party is at a family member or friend’s house, ask them ahead of time to spend the night. If the party is a work event, consider booking a hotel nearby and calling a taxi. This helps avoid the temptation to drive home after drinking.
If you’re unable to find other options, consider avoiding alcohol altogether. It can be difficult to measure your limit when it comes to holiday drinks. Many parties serve special holiday drinks that you may not always know what’s in them. You can also always ask for a non-alcoholic version so you can join in on the festivities.
Download a Rideshare App
Rideshare apps are a great way to get where you need to with convenience. Download the app ahead of time so you have easy access to it.
Avoid Mixing Alcohol With Medications
Another common mistake is mixing alcohol with medications. Medications can significantly increase your BAC, leaving you intoxicated without realizing it.
Driving defensively means being aware of what other drivers are doing at all times, whether or not you have had a drink. You cannot control other drivers, but by leaving enough room between you and the driver in front of you, you’re able to respond faster. Defensive driving also means avoiding distractions.
The use of drugs can also lead to a DUI, as well as illegal drug or substance abuse charges. Drug charges can also lead to felony charges, depending on the details.
Don’t Sleep It Off
You may feel tempted to sleep it off in the car until you feel sober enough to drive. There are a few problems with this. For one, you could still get a DUI charge if you’re in the vehicle and it’s running. You also may wake up and feel like you’re sober enough to drive when really, you still have alcohol in your system.
Taking certain precautions can help you avoid a costly DUI. You can still enjoy the upcoming holiday season by preparing ahead of time.
Potential Consequences of a DUI in New Jersey
A DUI conviction in New Jersey can lead to:
- Fines between $300 – $500
- Required attendance in an IDRC of between 12 – 48 hours
- Insurance surcharges of up to $1,000 annually
- Up to 30 days in jail
It’s important to note that these charges are for first-time offenders. A second offense of a DUI can lead to higher fines and more jail time.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why you must speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Cherry Hill, Medford, Moorestown, Marlton, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-393-6073 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 68 E. Main Street Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.