Proudly Serving New Jersey + Beyond

Available 24/7 | Consultation is Free

Firm Logo

A Summer DUI Can Spell Big Trouble for NJ Drivers

If you are arrested and charged with a DUI in Moorestown, NJ, the DUI defense lawyers at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered can help.

During the warmer months, a cold refreshing drink seems like the perfect way to kick off a relaxing, laid-back, summer vacation. Over the summer, many adults will enjoy alcoholic beverages while at a barbeque, pool party, picnic, or other types of gatherings. Unfortunately, some people will still choose to drive home after becoming too inebriated to drive.

Drunk driving has its highest rates during the summer, especially over summer holidays like Memorial Day, the Fourth of July, and Labor Day. Driving under the influence is an extremely dangerous traffic violation that is taken very seriously in New Jersey. If you find yourself being charged with a DUI or DWI this summer, you can be facing some serious penalties.

The Basics of DUI Laws in New Jersey

Most people know that they can be charged with a DWI for operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. However, you can also be charged with a DWI if you’re caught attempting to operate your car or vehicle while intoxicated if there is evidence of your intent to drive.

Under the influence is defined as a “substantial deterioration or diminution of the mental faculties or physical capabilities.” In layman’s terms, a driver cannot be under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, hallucinogens, or habit-producing drugs. In New Jersey, you can also be charged with a DUI for using prescription drugs while operating a motor vehicle, if there is evidence that the drug has impaired the person’s driving ability.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence

The penalties for a DWI charge depend on if it’s your first or subsequent offense. All offenders must participate in drug and alcohol screening and treatment recommendations through the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). The IDRC requires each participant to complete a minimum of six hours of treatment a day, in addition to paying a $75 fee and up to $100 for second or subsequent offenses. Days in the program can contribute to the offender’s jail time. The following includes the penalties for a first, second and third DWI offense.

Penalties for a first offense of a DUI or DWI, which is based on observation or a blood alcohol content between .08% and .099%:

  • Fines from $250-$400
  • Full Complement of IDRC Program (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center)
  • Possible installation of an Ignition interlock device on the vehicle
  • Insurance surcharge for three 3 years
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 months

On your second DWI offense you will face:

  • Loss of driver’s license for a minimum of 2 years
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fees
  • Completement of IDRC program
  • 30 days of community service

On your third DWI offense you will face:

  • Loss of driver’s license for 10 years
  • Minimum $1,000 fine
  • 180 days in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • $4,500 Insurance surcharge for 3 years

Additional Charges

If a driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence while they have a passenger of 17 years old or younger, they can be charged with a disorderly persons offense. A driver charged with a disorderly persons offense will face additional community service hours and extended license revocation.

Get a DUI Defense Lawyer Now

If you are charged with a DUI or DWI this summer, you need a DUI defense lawyer to help you get the best possible outcome! A DUI charge can have disastrous effects on your reputation and it can be hard to continue to support yourself and your family. An experienced and knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer can make all the difference.

Contact An Experienced Marlton Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your DUI Charges In New Jersey

Were you arrested or charged with a DUI in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered have successfully represented clients charged with a DUI in Burlington County, Camden County, Moorestown, Marlton, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-393-6073 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 68 East Main Street, Moorestown, NJ 08057.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Firm Logo
Moorestown Office68 E. Main StreetMoorestown, NJ 08057
Fax: 856.273.8617
Map + Directions
Moorestown Office68 E. Main StreetMoorestown, NJ 08057
Fax: 856.273.8617
Map + Directions