Your spring break plans may include beach days and late-night parties with friends. Perhaps it’s the break from work and school obligations that leads to many letting loose, but spring break is one of the busiest times for drunk driving charges. Some reports show that the number of DUI arrests increases by as much as 10% around spring break.
It’s important to consider the laws of any location you’re visiting for spring break. Different states may have varying BAC limits and DUI consequences. Continue reading to learn about New Jersey.
Comparing DUI Laws
In New Jersey, the legal BAC limit is 0.08%. This is the limit that indicates if you’re guilty of driving drunk or if you’re within the legal limit. New Jersey issues first-time DUI offenders’ fines between $300-$500, IDRC attendance requirements of between 12-48 hours, insurance surcharges, and a maximum of 30 days in jail.
Those arrested with a DUI who have prior offenses may receive even higher fines and more jail time requirements. These consequences may differ if you celebrate spring break in a different state. For example, states like Arizona, Tennessee, and Georgia require minimum jail time for all DUI offenders, including those with no prior offenses. If you’re visiting New Jersey for spring break and spending time at the beach in Atlantic City or Cape May, you are also subject to New Jersey’s DUI laws.
DUI Charges Under 21 Years
All states, including New Jersey, follow a zero-tolerance law. This means if you’re under 21 years of age and you’re arrested for driving under the influence, the 0.08% limit doesn’t apply to you. If you’re over 0.02% BAC, you can be charged with a DUI.
Important Facts to Know About New Jersey DUI Laws
Whether you’re a resident of New Jersey or visiting New Jersey for spring break, it’s important to know the laws regarding DUI’s:
- DUI checkpoints are a possibility: New Jersey laws allow DUI checkpoints. DUI checkpoints are places that officers set up near party areas, specifically looking for signs of a DUI.
- New Jersey has an implied consent law: New Jersey laws indicate that anyone who drives in New Jersey is required to consent to a BAC test if there is suspicion of drinking and driving.
- You are entitled to a lawyer: You are entitled to a lawyer if you’re charged with a DUI in New Jersey.
- Being drunk at the time of the arrest doesn’t always mean you’ll be charged: Even if you’re drunk at the time of the arrest, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be charged with a DUI.
Small mistakes, like missing an arraignment date or admitting to driving while under the influence, can harm your case. If you’re pulled over in New Jersey and charged with a DUI, it’s important to reach out to a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. DUI charges can lead to expensive fines and jail time. There are defenses available that may lower your sentences or prevent you from having to spend time in jail.
Contact an Experienced Camden County DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Burlington County, Camden County, Moorestown, Marlton, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-393-6073 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 68 E. Main Street Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.