When you think of Valentine’s Day, the risk of drunk driving may not be the first thing that comes to mind. However, you may be surprised to learn that Valentine’s Day has its fair share of DUI incidents. While your Valentine’s Day celebrations may include alcohol, it’s important to take certain steps to protect your rights.
Tips to Avoid a DUI this Upcoming Holiday
Here are a few tips to avoid a DUI this upcoming Valentine’s Day:
1. Plan Ahead
Bar celebrations aren’t that uncommon around and on Valentine’s Day. You and your partner may celebrate your relationship with a few drinks. A night out drinking with friends may be how you plan to forget about a past relationship. While there’s nothing wrong with having a few drinks on Valentine’s Day, it’s important to plan ahead. Hire a driver or schedule a rideshare service to and from the bar to avoid driving.
2. Book a Night at the Local Hotel
If you plan on drinking on Valentine’s Day, booking a hotel room is a good way to avoid a drinking and driving charge. Even better, choose a hotel with an on-site bar.
3. Discuss Your Plans With Friends
Many drunk driving incidents come from a group of friends who forget to designate a sober driver. This usually leads to the person who is less intoxicated being the driver. Instead, it’s always a good idea to discuss your plans ahead of time with friends, so you know who’s responsible for driving. Remember, buzzed driving is drunk driving and can leave you with the same penalties.
4. Celebrate at Home
Home celebrations mean you can drink as much as you want, without risking a DUI. Valentine’s Day is commonly cold in New Jersey, which can make a night in cozy and comfy. Cook a big dinner yourself or have your favorite restaurant’s foods and beverages delivered instead.
Whatever your Valentine’s Day plans are this year, make sure you plan ahead to avoid a DUI. A DUI can be life-changing and expensive. It can lead to legal fines and even jail time. Depending on the details of your DUI, it can also affect your employment opportunities in the future. If you have a professional license, a DUI can affect that, too.
DUI Consequences in New Jersey
A blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher is illegal in New Jersey. If convicted, this can lead to:
- Jail time: A DUI in New Jersey can lead to up to 30 days in jail.
- IDRC attendance: A DUI can also lead to a requirement of 12-48 hours of attendance in an intoxicated driver resource center.
- Legal fines: New Jersey often imposes legal fines between $250-$400.
- Ignition interlock: The judge may also order you to use an ignition interlock device in your car.
The potential consequences can be even harsher, especially if you have a BAC level over .10% or if you have prior DUI convictions. If you’re dealing with potential DUI charges, it’s also important to reach out to a Moorestown DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible, especially if this isn’t your first DUI conviction.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown DUI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Mt. Laurel, Mt. Holly, Moorestown, Marlton, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-393-6073 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 68 E. Main Street Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.