New Jersey is one of the strictest states when it comes to weapons charges. If you are dealing with potential weapons charges, whether it is a disorderly persons offense or a first-degree crime, you need an experienced lawyer to build your defense. The sooner that you reach out to a lawyer, the more options you may have. Continue reading to find out what the penalty for a weapons charge in New Jersey is.
Types of New Jersey Weapons Charges
New Jersey lists a wide range of potential weapons charges. One of the most common charges is unlawful possession of weapons, which usually includes the illegal possession or possession of an illegal accessory, like a silencer or bump stock. Other factors, like whether it is a first-time or repeated offense, will also dictate the legal charges.
Potential Legal Consequences for Weapons Charges
The specific legal consequences that you receive will vary on the details of your arrest. This is why it is so important to contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. While the specific charges may vary, jail time is a possibility for most. Whereas third-degree crimes can lead to up to five years of prison time, a second-degree crime can lead to up to 10 years in a state prison. Even minor charges, like the illegal possession of a stun gun or sand club, could lead to up to 18 months in state prison.
In addition to prison, a criminal record can be difficult to navigate. It can make it difficult to maintain or find employment. You may also be prevented from legally owning a gun.
Read more: Weapons Charges As An Enhanced Penalty
Build Your Weapons Defense
There are a few acceptable defenses available against weapons charges in New Jersey. Choosing the right criminal defense lawyer can mean the difference between jail time or probation. We evaluate the details of our client’s charges in-depth to understand and determine if, and what, defense may be available.
Some common legal defenses that we have used include an illegal search or that the offender didn’t even commit a crime. The weapons laws in New Jersey are not always clear. For example, you don’t need a permit, in most cases, to have a firearm in your house. But, the details regarding why you were arrested and charged, will matter.
How to Choose the Right Criminal Defense Lawyer
You might have a lot of criminal defense lawyer options, but choosing the right one is important to your case. Not only do you need a lawyer who is familiar with New Jersey’s laws, but you also need one that knows weapons laws. You also need a lawyer who will put in the time to build your defense.
Our lawyers will evaluate things like the police reports, talk to witnesses, review dash cams, and even check camera views to ensure there weren’t any mistakes made that led to your charges. Even if it is not possible for your charges to be dropped, you may have room for negotiations, which could reduce the severity of your charges. This could potentially keep you out of jail.
Sometimes, charges are given, even if there isn’t a clear intent to use the weapon and we may use that defense. Contact us today to find out what defenses may be available.
Contact an Experienced Camden County Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Weapons Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with weapons charges in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Attorneys, Hartman, Chartered have successfully represented clients charged with weapons charges in Burlington County, Camden County, Moorestown, Marlton, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 273-8617 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 68 East Main Street, Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.