New Changes to DUI Convictions in NJ
In August 2019, Governor Phil Murphy enacted a new law that reduces the length of license suspension for first-time convictions of DWI/DUI in New Jersey. The suspension terms have been significantly reduced in favor of an expansion of the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device. The Governor relied upon the idea that the State needed to deter drunk driving without negatively impacting citizens’ ability to take care of themselves or their families. The interlock devices will be installed at the cost of the convicted driver, however.
This law represents a significant change in first-time DUI/DWI sentencing in New Jersey. The new sentencing provision for first-time DUI/DWI offenders will depend upon Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) as follows:
- BAC of 0.08 to 0.10 – must install ignition interlock at own cost for six months (license suspension of only 30 days)
- BAC of 0.10 to 0.15 – must install ignition interlock at own cost for six months to a year (license suspension of only 45 days)
- BAC higher than 0.15 – must install ignition interlock at own cost for one year to 18 months (license suspension of only 90 days)
The new law will take effect in November of 2019, but will not have pipeline retroactivity. This means that if you were arrested prior to November 2019, and were charged with DUI/DWI, then the old sentencing system will be utilized rather than the new one. If you or a loved one have been charged with drunk driving (DUI/DWI), or a breath test refusal, you should seek legal advice immediately. Contact Michael Mormando for assistance.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your DWI/DUI Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with a DWI/DUI in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Attorneys Hartman, Chartered have successfully represented clients charged with a DUI or DWI in Moorestown, Cherry Hill, Marlton, Mt. Laurel and throughout NJ. Call (856) 235-0220 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a free consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 68 E Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.